Blog Prompt: Favorite Books

Mon 7/28 Blog Prompt

In honor of Beatrix Potter’s birthday, tell us about some of the books (as a child and an adult) that you have loved over the years.


 
Over the years, I have read a ton of books.  I never feel so much at home as when I am reading a good book.  I remember reading Beatrix Potter’s books, my favorite being The Tale of Peter Rabbit, of course. These were truly some of my favorite books growing up.

However, I have had many favorite books over the years.  There is one set of books that has followed me through the years.  I have read this series at least once a year for at least 10 years.  That series is the Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery.  I have probably memorized much of these stories because I felt such a kinship to Anne, the heroine in this series. I believe that if she and I had been contemporaries (and had she been a live person), we would have been what she called “bosom buddies.”  I have laughed with her, cried with her, followed her life down it’s many different paths.  I have longed to be her, to be like her, to have her courage and her heart.  I have many of the same interests that she had in her stories.  I think that perhaps it is a sign of a good writer to be able to reach the hearts of his/her readers long after they have long “outgrown” the stories.

Another favorite series is The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.  Again, these stories transcend the years.  They are still favorites of mine, even now.  I believe the first time I read this series, I was 10 years old.  I fell in love with them then, and I have read them many times since.

While there are other books that have reached me over the years, these are the ones that have touched my heart and my life, time and time again.  Though I may find others that touch my heart in the future, I don’t believe that any of them will replace my first loves.

1 Comment

  1. Glynis said,

    July 29, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Those are some of my favorites, too. I’m re-reading (for the umpteenth time) the Narnia books and enjoying them so much–this time with my children 🙂


Leave a Reply

