Life in General

So my life has been a little crazy lately.  I’ve been working a lot and studying a lot and spending as much time with my girls as I possibly can.

Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of self-help books.  (That’s what I mean by studying by the way.)  First, I read a book called “Common Sense Parenting.”  It’s actually very good, and has a lot of great tips and tricks.  I gleaned a lot of information from it, and I am putting it into practice, though it’s a long hard road ahead of me.  Just ask my girls…they were fine with the changes in “rewards” they receive, but boy they are not happy when they get disciplined.  I’ve heard “I hate you!” more in the last 2 1/2 months than I have ever heard.  It was a bit disconcerting at first because it’s hard to hear that from your child when  you love them so much and try to do as much good as you can.  But I’m learning that my kids say that to try to get me to change my mind about what I have decided.  It’s actually kind of funny to me now (not that I condone this kind of behavior or allow them to get away with it without consequence lol) because I know that 5 minutes later I’m going to get an apology.  Like I said, I got a lot from that book.

Next I read a book called “The Leadership Pill.”  This is a book about being an effective manager.  It’s written in parable form (which I love), and it gives a lot of great information about how to be an effective leader.  To my surprise, I found that being an effective manager is just like raising kids!!  I had to laugh when I read all of the same ideas for managing that I had read in my parenting books.  I thought that was pretty interesting.

I’m now reading the “The Five Love Languages of Children,” which is full of great advice about how to fill your child’s “love tank.”  I haven’t gotten very far in this one yet, but I have read most of it once before.  I really look forward to reading more of it.  What I have noticed so far is that it has many of the same concepts as “Common Sense Parenting.”  

I’m also reading several other books about management.  I’m finding them very interesting, and I’ve been growing in my role at work so much over the past couple of weeks.  I’m finding that as I put more of these concepts into action, I am getting a lot better results.  I’m looking forward to learning more and more as I grow in this management role.

My writing has kind of taken a back seat to everything else, but I would really like to get back into it.  Finding time (or making time) is difficult these days – we’re all so busy.  However, I’m sure I’ll get there.

Well, guess I’m going to sign off for now.

Until next time….

Leave a Reply

