Happy New Year – My Top Ten Goals for 2010

Happy New Year Everyone!!

I have given a lot of thought to what my resolutions for this year are going to be. I don’t generally make them, but I do have some goals I would like to reach this year. Some of them are just fun thing, but others I think could and probably will change my life for the better. Here are my TOP TEN goals for 2010.

1) It is my goal in 2010 to read through the entire Bible.

I have tried to do this on occasion, and I always start out well, but then I somehow get off track and don’t finish. This year, I intend to finish this goal.

2) Get involved in my church – specifically in the single parent’s ministry.

I already took step 1 and talked about it with different people in the group. Now, it is time to take step 2 and actually meet with the Single’s Ministry Pastor and start getting involved. This is going to take me out of my comfort zone because I have NEVER worked with adults (outside of work of course lol), so this is a new thing for me.

3) Get out of my house more often.

I am a homebody – I admit it. I like to sit at home on my computer (scrapping, playing games etc.) or reading a book or whatever it is that I decide to do – at home. It is time for me to get out of the house, and do some fun things with my kids – and sometimes even without my kids.

4) Yes – the age-old lose some weight.

Ok – so this is not a new one – in fact, I’ve already been working on this, so this is not just a New Year’s resolution. This is a lifestyle goal. I want to lose about 100 lbs in the next year. I can do it – but it’s going to take work. What I really mean by this is that I am going to eat healthier and in moderation. I am going to exercise and I am going to become stronger physically. I am going to have setbacks – after all, I AM human. But I truly believe that this is going to be MY year to shine. πŸ™‚

5) Write more often.

My goal is to publish a book. Obviously that means I have to actually WRITE a book. LOL So, my goal this year is to work on my writing. I need to get back into practice. I’m not going to make some promise to write for 1/2 hour every day (or even 10 minutes), but what I am going to do is to write more often. I AM going to try to write at least 3 times a week for half an hour.

6) Make some ME time.

This one sounds pretty selfish – but in reality, it would be more selfish of me to not make any ME time. Let me explain. I have this tendency to want to do and be everything for everyone. I am a perfectionist in every sense of the word. If I can’t be or do something for someone, I feel guilty and I get down on myself. But the reality is, if I don’t take time for myself, I burn out, and then I’m not any good to anyone. So I am going to make some ME time.

7) Be more spontaneous.

I admit it, I’m a planner. This can be good, but sometimes it’s also good to be flexible. I get a little bent out of shape when things don’t go as planned, and I have a difficult time doing things on the spur of the moment. However, this year, I am going to try to be a little more spontaneous. If it’s not going to keep me from getting done with what I need to do, then I’m going to try to do it (that is IF I really want to lol).

8) Try something new every month.

Again – I don’t like to get out of my comfort zone. However, I DO like to learn new things – so each month, I am going to try to find something to learn or try something new – whether it be a new skill, a new food, or a new activity. This could be fun. πŸ™‚

9) Turn the TV off for a whole day – at least 1x per month.

I like to watch TV. In fact, my TV is generally on from the time I get up to the time I go to bed (well when I’m home of course). So, this year, I am going to turn the TV off for one day during the month. The entire day – a full 24 hours at least. My kids will ALSO not be watching TV. This is in an effort to get us doing other activities – going for walks, having a family night, playing board games, etc. This is to draw me and my girls closer and help us forge a deeper bond, and hopefully help them to be more open with me. πŸ™‚

10) Last, but definitely NOT least, I am going to work on getting a closer walk with God.

I already mentioned reading the Bible in a year and getting involved in my church. However, there is a deeper need here. I need to really get to know God. I have lots of book knowledge. I’ve studied God’s Word for years. But book knowledge does nothing if my relationship with God does not grow deeper. So this year, I am going to spend more time with God – reading His Word, studying His Word, and praying. And then I am really going to try to listen for His leading.

As I said earlier, this is MY year to shine. Only I have the ability to make these decisions for me. It is my responsibility to choose to shine or not, and this year, I want to be that bright star that draws others to Christ. I am going to step out of my comfort zone. I know that I am going to fail sometimes – everyone does. But I am going to use those failures to learn new lessons, and I am going to let God use those lessons to draw me closer to Him – He truly is able to work all things for good.

So, with all that said – Happy New Year everyone!! And may your dreams come true, and may God richly bless you and your families all year.

~~Gabby

Leave a Reply

