Blog Prompt: Today is National Bird Day. What native wild birds are flying around your area and which ones are your favorites?


Here in Florida, the birds I see most often are different types of wading birds.  There are specifically 2 different kinds of birds I generally see, black/gray tall wading birds and smaller white wading birds.  There are TONS of them.  I’ve included some pics of both because I am not certain what types of birds these are, but I just love them.

The first bird, below, is my favorite.  The reason is that these birds are practically fearless.  I can almost walk all the way up to them…in fact I’d try if I wasn’t so worried about them biting me LOL.

These are my favorite birds that I've seen since being here.


These are my other favorites.  They are just beautiful and I see them all over the place.  I just love them.

These are my favorite white birds here in Florida.

So – those are the birds I like here in Florida.  I wish I knew what they were called.

~~Gabby~~

2 Comments

  1. Pat said,

    January 5, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    I don’t know what they are either but they are beautiful! Thanks for sharing the photos of them! Maybe someone who sees this will be able to identify it.

  2. Tink said,

    January 8, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    The top one is a heron, very plentiful in all parts of Florida including the nw part where I live. The white ones may well be herons too, but couldn’t tell from the photo.


Leave a Reply

