Blog Prompt: January is National Soup Month. What is your favorite soup and why?

Well – I had no idea that January was National Soup Month, but I can understand why it would be lol.  I actually have two favorites – and I cannot choose one over the other because I truly do like them equally.  They are chicken noodle soup and tomato soup.

The reason these two are my favorites is very basic – they are what my mom used to give me when I was not feeling well.  You would think that being associated with being sick would make them undesirable, but there is something oddly comforting about these two soups.  She would make me toasted cheese sandwiches and give me soup and crackers and even if I didn’t feel completely better, I would feel better – safer – stronger.

It gave me such a sense of security and love to get these from my mom when I wasn’t feeling well.  I don’t know why, it just did.  So, that’s why they are my favorite.

~~Gabby~~

3 Comments

  1. Pat said,

    January 7, 2010 at 4:52 am

    I agree! I think the thought of the soup is associated with good memories of your mom and the thoughts of comfort. Maybe that is when we are first introduced to soup in our memory.

  2. Tammy Adams said,

    January 7, 2010 at 7:18 am

    I love tomato soup and grilled cheese when I’ve been sick. Seems those two work well on my tummy after a cold or flu.

  3. Tink said,

    January 8, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I love tomato soup made with milk (not water) and for much the same reason I think.


Leave a Reply

