Blog Prompt: Today is Elvis’s birthday. What is your favorite Elvis song and what memories does it bring back?

This is a funny one.  Ok – I don’t know a TON of Elvis songs – I should, but the only one that comes to mind right now (and I do know more than this one lol) is “Blue Christmas.”  It’s funny because I always hated that song growing up.  We played it every year at Christmas and I just HATED it.  The “ooo ooo ooo oo oo” (and you know what I’m talkin’ about if you have heard this song lol) just drove me insane.

However, NOW, I have to say that while I still don’t “love” the song, it is one I would call my favorite – not because of the music itself, but because of the memories that come to mind when I hear it. I remember decorating the Christmas tree – sorting the ornaments – admiring the ones that we kids had made for our mom – stringing popcorn – making paper chains – laughter – fun.  Decorating our Christmas tree each year is one of my most treasured memories.  I don’t remember any fighting or arguing at that time.  All I remember is laughter and fun.

So – that’s why “Blue Christmas” is my favorite Elvis song.

~~Gabby~~

3 Comments

  1. Tink said,

    January 8, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    and that’s the best way to remember a song. Glad it brings back such happy memories.

  2. Tammy Adams said,

    January 9, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Isn’t it weird how even a bad thing you see, still brings up good memories.

  3. Pat said,

    January 10, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I have so many memories associated with different songs. I wonder if that is why it is good for teachers to mix music with new learning.


Leave a Reply

