My Recent Thoughts

**Author’s Note** I apologize in advance that this is not quite as eloquent as I imagined it to be.  I have a tendency to ramble and go off on tangents.  Also, this is not meant for any particular person or group.  It’s just my thoughts – and more toward myself than anything.  **END NOTE**

I hear it all the time.  We’re supposed to be tolerant – to the point of denying our own personal convictions so that we don’t “offend” someone else.  I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately.  I know I know – what’s new right??  I’m ALWAYS reading.  But I’ve been getting a little deeper in my reading material lately, and if you’ve never read anything by Randy Alcorn – you really should.  He’s a very gifted author, and I was impressed from the first chapter of the books I’ve read by him so far.

But that’s not what I’m here to talk about.  I hear complaining all the time from other Christians about how Christians are getting a bum deal.  I mean, if we say we’re pro-life, we offend the pro-choice movement.  If we say we believe everything that the Bible says, with no exceptions, then we are told that we believe an outdated book that nobody can really prove is true anyway (of course I beg to differ, but that’s not what I’m here to write about today either).  If we say someone’s life-style or actions or words or whatever is contrary to what God’s Word says is true and right, we are told that we are intolerant and uncaring.  We’ve been told that in order to truly be tolerant we have to embrace these causes and make them our own.  And what’s really sad, is that many of us buy into this!!  What happened to thinking for oneself??

Now, I am proud to be a Christian, but I have to admit, I don’t show it all the time…I fail at this so often.  But I AM proud to be a Christian.  Some of what I have to say here may offend others, and for the offense, I am sorry, but for speaking what I know to be true and right, I am not sorry.  I should be doing that more often.  I shouldn’t be sitting in my chair afraid to speak up because I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings.  Since when did God say share the Gospel only if you’re not going to hurt someone’s feelings?  Since when did He say, don’t speak the truth, just love??  He didn’t – He said to “speak the truth IN love”  (Ephesians 4:15) – we are supposed to speak the truth BECAUSE we love those around us.

But again, I digress.

Often I hear about how all these special interest groups are allowed to get their agendas out there.  I hear Christians say, “it’s not fair, we have to keep being more tolerant of others, but they don’t have to be tolerant of us.”  It’s funny, this reminds me of Bible class when I was growing up…and our Bible Teacher, I think his name was Mr. Grist (or something like that) he always was saying “‘T ain’t fair! ‘T aint fair!” – he said that was what the Pharisees were always saying.  That’s how I always think of them now because of that class. But it gets me thinking – those who say it isn’t fair – were they really trying to get the message out there anyway?  I mean come on, let’s be honest now – how many of us honestly do that these days.  Again, I go back to my statement that I FAIL at this all the time.  I succeed at so many other things, but at THIS I fail…and this is way more important than anything else I do!!

But anyway, who said life was going to be fair?  Didn’t God say that we were going to have trials and tribulations?  Didn’t he say that if he was ridiculed we would be too??  We as Christians shouldn’t be surprised, nor should we whine and cry about it – we should “count it all joy” that we get to identify with Christ.  Our suffering is temporary, so what have we to complain about??

It’s not going to get any better just because we complain about it.  So, we might has well keep working toward getting the good news out there, but we also need to be aware that we are going to have set backs.  People ARE going to get annoyed with us.  Some of us might even get treated badly as a result.  But we are admonished to spread the good news.

I leave you with this passage (1 Peter 3:9-17 – NASB):

“To sum up, (K)all of you be harmonious, sympathetic, (L)brotherly, (M)kindhearted, and (N)humble in spirit;

9(O)not returning evil for evil or (P)insult for insult, but giving a (Q)blessing instead; for (R)you were called for the very purpose that you might (S)inherit a blessing.

10For,
(T)THE ONE WHO DESIRES LIFE, TO LOVE AND SEE GOOD DAYS,
MUST KEEP HIS TONGUE FROM EVIL AND HIS LIPS FROM SPEAKING DECEIT.
11
(U)HE MUST TURN AWAY FROM EVIL AND DO GOOD;
HE MUST SEEK PEACE AND PURSUE IT.
12
(V)FOR THE EYES OF THE LORD ARE TOWARD THE RIGHTEOUS,
AND HIS EARS ATTEND TO THEIR PRAYER,
BUT THE FACE OF THE LORD IS AGAINST THOSE WHO DO EVIL.”

13(W)Who is there to harm you if you prove zealous for what is good?

14But even if you should (X)suffer for the sake of righteousness, (Y)you are blessed (Z)AND DO NOT FEAR THEIR INTIMIDATION, AND DO NOT BE TROUBLED,

15but [a]sanctify (AA)Christ as Lord in your hearts, always being ready (AB)to make a defense to everyone who asks you to give an account for the (AC)hope that is in you, yet (AD)with gentleness and (AE)reverence;

16and keep a (AF)good conscience so that in the thing in which (AG)you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ will be put to shame.

17For (AH)it is better, (AI)if God should will it so, that you suffer for doing what is right rather than for doing what is wrong.”

~~Gabby~~

Leave a Reply

