The Unknown

Have you ever been in a situation where you know just a tiny, little bit of the puzzle, and that’s it?  I have, and I am one of those people who just really likes to know everything.  I don’t like to be kept in the dark.  If someone has something to say to me, I’d just rather they say it than to hint around at it or, worse yet, talk to everyone else about it – where I end up hearing it through the grapevine (and it turns out to be so much smaller than it seems when heard through the grapevine).  I don’t know – perhaps I am in the minority in this, but I have a feeling that many others feel the same way.

In addition to wanting someone to just tell me what’s going on, I also like to know the way things will turn out.  Now, I’m smart enough to know better than to actually expect that to happen, but I would be lying if I said that I didn’t want it to happen.  I do not like to take risks if I don’t have a reasonable indication that the risk will pay off.  That’s just not my style.

And yet, isn’t that what faith is?  Taking a risk, with the hope that it will turn out alright?  If I stick to my guns and refuse to take a risk because I am scared of the outcome, then am I really refusing to step out in faith, or am I being wise?  And really, is there such thing as a sure thing?  I mean really?

According to Hebrews 11:1,  “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen” (NKJV).  If you go to the New American Standard Bible, you will find that it says, “Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.”  These are not talking about two different things.  What it is saying is that we are so sure of our faith that we can see the evidence and are convinced that our faith is valid.  We act upon that belief.  We step out and take a risk because we believe that what we have been told is true and right.  Nothing here says that there is no risk.  God has asked us to take the ultimate risk – belief in His Son, Jesus, that He died for our sins (because we are all sinners), He rose again after 3 days in the grave, and He went back to Heaven to prepare a place for us.

We risk everything, and yet we really risk nothing.  Think about it, how much of a risk is it?  We’ve been told how it will end.  God wins!  We get eternity with Him!

Now one might ask, what if it’s not true?  What if we trust God, and we live our lives according to what He asks us to, but it turns out to all be a lie?  My question in return is, what have you really lost?  If it’s not true and reincarnation is, then you get another chance!  If it’s not true, and there’s nothing after death, then it’s not as if you risked anything because there was nothing to look forward to.  So the reality is, you really have nothing to lose!

We may not know or understand all the reasons we have to go through the things we go through.  God doesn’t promise us that we’re always going to know or understand.  What He does promise is found in Romans 8:28 “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose” (NASB).  And along with the Apostle Paul, I say with conviction, “For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39, NASB).

What about you?  Are you ready to take the “leap of faith”?

~Gabby

Leave a Reply

